2020 Jurors

Michael B. Gillespie is a film professor at The City College of New York, CUNY. His research and writing focuses on black visual and expressive culture, film theory, visual historiography, popular music, and contemporary art. He is the author of Film Blackness: American Cinema and the Idea of Black Film (Duke University Press, 2016) and co-editor of Black One Shot, an art criticism series on ASAP/J. His recent work has appeared in Black Light: A Retrospective of International Black Cinema, Flash Art, Unwatchable, Film Quarterly, and Keywords in African American Studies.

Born in Tokyo Sylvia Schedelbauer first moved to Berlin in 1993, where she has been based since. She studied at the University of Arts Berlin (with Katharina Sieverding). Her films negotiate the space between broader historical narratives and personal, psychological realms mainly through poetic manipulations of found and archival footage.
Selected screenings: Berlinale, Toronto International Film Festival, International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, London Film Festival, New York Film Festival, Robert Flaherty International Film Seminar and Stan Brakhage Symposium. Awards include the VG Bildkunst Award, the German Film Critics’ Award and the Gus Van Sant Award for Best Experimental Film. Schedelbauer is a 2019/2020 fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: